loading
  • Learn p4cHI with others from around the world during our annual Summer Symposium

  • Check out our Resource Guide to get started learning p4cHI

Sign up to get the latest updates

Home

Welcome to the online home for philosophy for children Hawaii (p4cHI) educational resources. Here you can find everything you need to get started with p4c Hawaii in your school or community. We have free public resources and additional content for members only. If you are not yet an official member of the p4c Hawaii community, consider joining us!

 

Below you can find a list of upcoming events hosted or sponsored by the Uehiro Academy for Philosophy and Ethics in Education.

 

REGISTRATION FOR OUR VIRTUAL SUMMER SYMPOSIUM 2021 IS NOW OPEN!

 

 

Other upcoming events:

  • 日:2021年2月7日日曜日 (ハワイ時間:2月6日土曜日)

    時:午前10:00~11:30 (ハワイ時間15:00~16:30)

    場所:オンライン開催(ZOOM)

    費用:15$(アメリカドル)+ウェブ決済料

     

    Date: Sunday, February 7, 2021 Japan (Saturday, February 6, 2021 Hawaii )

    Time: 10:00-11:30 AM Japan (3:00-4:30 PM Hawaii)

    Location: Online via Zoom

    Cost: $15 per person USD

     

    ハナハウオリ小学校は1918年に設立され、ハワイで100年以上にわたって進歩主義的な教育を中心的に担ってきた私立学校です。その一貫したミッションで、家族や地元地域からグローバルなコミュニティにいたるまで、それらを持続可能にする様々な価値を学び、大切にするための基礎を学ぶ時間を子どもたちに提供してきました。本イベントでは、日本の視聴者の方々に向けて、本校の実践を紹介いたします。スピーカーは「子どもとする哲学」を研究するためハナハウオリ小学校に半年ほど滞在した、東京大学の堀越耀介さんです。本校で学んだことやその特徴を、創始者の思想や教育方法、ハワイの文化や日米の学校との比較からお話しいただきます。また、研究滞在終了後に出版された著書『哲学はこう使う:問題解決に効く哲学思考入門』についても、その内容をシェアしていただく予定です。その内容をシェアしていただく予定です。

    Hanahau‘oli School is a one hundred year old progressive school located in Honolulu, Hawaii. Founded in 1918, Hanahau‘oli is regarded as a preeminent independent elementary school because of its adherence to a progressive mission that validates childhood as the time of learning, the years when the foundation is laid for life-long commitment to the values that sustain our families, our neighborhoods and the global community. The purpose of this public talk is to introduce Hanahau‘oli School to a Japanese speaking audience. The talk will be given by Yosuke Horikoshi, a visiting scholar from Japan who stayed at the school for six months  conducting  research on Philosophy for Children. Horikoshi will share lessons learned from the school, including connections between Hanahau‘oli, the progressive philosophy and pedagogy of John Dewey, and a more general comparison between Japanese and American schools. Horikoshi will also share the book he published shortly after returning to Japan after his stay in Hawaii. 

    Please note that this presentation will be in Japanese.

    Event Agenda:

     9:45 AM Japan (2:45 PM Hawaii): Enter the Zoom Room

    10:00 AM Japan (3:00 PM Hawaii): Welcome: Introductions, overview

    10:10 AM Japan (3:10 PM Hawaii): Presentation

    11:00 AM Japan (4:00 PM Hawaii): Questions and discussion

    11:30 AM Japan (4:30 PM Hawaii): Event concludes, evaluation emailed to participants

    Purchase the Book here.

     

    buy tickets